Mini-Workshop on Probability and Undecidability

Tuesday, December 15, 2020
12:00pm (noon)–4:00pm (East Coast time)

[Registration Form]

• This is a free Zoom event (no registration fee)
• The meeting ID and password will be shared with those who register
• Each talk will be 45 minutes, followed by 15 minutes for questions
You can find more events in this series in the navigation panel on the left
• You can visit the YouTube channel here

Questions or comments: Jacob Barandes, firstname_lastname(at) (organizer)

Informal introductions

“The Borel-Kolmogorov Paradox as a Paradox for Physical Chance”
Snow Xueyin Zhang – Princeton University
Slides (PDF), Video (YouTube)

“Determinism and Undecidability: You Can’t Eat Your Cake and Have it Too”
Klaas Landsman – Radboud University Nijmegen
Slides (PDF), Video (YouTube), FQXi Essay, arXiv Paper

“The Room in the Elephant: From Undecidability as Undifferentiation to Physics Without a World”
Markus Müller – Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information
Video (YouTube), FQXi Essay, arXiv Paper

Open discussion
Video (YouTube)


Emily Adlam, Holly Andersen, Guido Bacciagaluppi, Jacob Barandes (organizer), Adam Becker, Charles Bédard, Yemima Ben-Menahem, Clara Bradley, Thomas Breuer, Jean Bricmont, Samuel Buckley-Bonanno, Jeremy Butterfield, Sean Carroll, Eric Cavalcanti, Xavier Coiteux-Roy, Elise Crull, Radwa Dawood, Heather Demarest, Maaneli Derakhshani, Detlef Duerr, John Earman, Johannes Fankhauser, Benjamin Feintzeig, Jan Głowacki, Daniel Grimmer, Bixin Guo, Meir Hemmo, Mina Himwich, Carl Hoefer, John Huth, Ding Jia, David Kagan, Klaas Landsman (speaker), Matt Leifer, Barry Loewer, Joanna Luc, Patrick Magee, Tiago Martinelli, Tim Maudlin, Logan McCarty, Alexander Meehan, Xiangyi Meng, Chris Mitsch, Damon Moley, Markus Müller (speaker), George Musser, Siddharth Muthu Krishnan, Wayne Myrvold, Pedro Naranjo, Danny November, Makinde Ogunnaike, Hans Christian Öttinger, Harrison Payne, Fleur Petit, Francisco Pipa, Tomasz Placek, Josh Quirke, Michael Ridley, Bryan Roberts, Pascal Rodríguez Warnier, Daniel Rohrlich, Jerome Romagosa, Robert Rynasiewicz, Carlos Gerardo Sanjuan Ciepielewski, Simon Saunders, Jonathan Schonfeld, John Sipe, Jeremy Steeger, Chrysovalantis Stergiou, Anthony Thompson, Nicetu Tibau Vidal, Lev Vaidman, Tein van der Lugt, Francesca Vidotto, Maria Violaris, Al Wilson, Cy Yavuzturk, Snow Zhang (speaker), Tian Zhang